Was I the one to blame?

Okay, another story time. This time, an accident. A vehicular one.
It was around 1:40-1:50am, my usual time to go to work. Since it’s past midnight, it’s very common for me to wait for the pampasaherong jeepney. I usually go out in the middle of the night alone but on that night, my mom walked me to where I usually wait for a jeepney. I was lucky that right after we crossed the street, I saw an oncoming jeepney. It was running fast. I actually thought the driver would pass me by so I hurriedly waved at him and it stopped maybe a foot past me. I got on and reached for my coin purse to pay for my fare. I did feel that the vehicle was running, slowly but trying to revive its speed. And then a loud sound came upon. It sounded like an explosion or like something was hit by lightning. Everyone was looking at the back of our vehicle. A car hit us. It was an owner-type jeepney. Its bumper was detached and our jeepney’s footrest (the one you use to get on the jeep) was distorted, almost gone. Our driver was really pissed ’cause the other vehicle’s driver looked drunk. Good thing, there was a police car patrolling the area and assisted us right away (if not, there would be a fistfight, or maybe worse). Me and all the passengers got off and waited for the next jeepney while the police did their job. My mom was still out and told me that the owner-type jeep was running really fast just behind the jeepney I hopped in. When I heard that, I got weird goosebumps. I got really scared. That owner -type jeepney could’ve hit me and shit, I could’ve lost my legs if I was getting on slowly. But the accident  shouldn’t have happened if I didn’t wave at the jeep and make it stop.I felt very sorry for both drivers. Another pampasaherong jeepney came up and picked us all up.
I got through that day wondering if it was my fault that happened. I still am thinking about that and maybe, it was.

Leave a Reply

